martin luther king, jr. commission

contact us

Commission Members
Martin Luther King, Jr.
Meeting Schedule
MLK Task Force Report
Order 135-A
Work Schedule

One of the recommendations of the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Task Force was for the Mayor and Council to establish a Commission which would be responsible for working with the City and community organizations to raise funds to build a Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. memorial, to plan and create the memorial, to promote community awareness of the ideals and principles of Dr. King, and ensure Dr. King’s message of peace, equality, social and economic justice, and non-violent civic discourse prevails.

Commission Members  (print version)

Councilor Dan Skolnik Co-chair

City of Portland
Rachel Talbot Ross Co-chair City of Portland
Janis Beitzer Portland Downtown District
Rabbi Carolyn Braun Temple Beth-El
Steve Bromage Maine Historical Society
Bishop Steve Coleman Williams Temple Church of God In Christ
Justin Costa Portland School Committee
Dennis Crowley Greater Portland Landmarks
Rev. Kenneth Lewis Green Memorial A.M.E. Zion Church
William Nelligan  
Jaime Parker Friends of the Parks Commission
Abraham Peck Academic Council for Post-Holocaust Jewish, Christian and Islamic Studies
Regina Phillips NAACP Portland Branch
Jonathan Reitman Interfaith Maine
Wells Staley-Mays NAACP Portland Branch
Simon Thompson Portland School Committee
Dawud Ummah USM Chaplaincy Office


Judy Rosen Executive Department

Meeting Schedule

The Commission will be meeting the 1st Wednesday of the month beginning March 3, 2010. The meetings will be from 5:00-7:00 and will be held in Council Chambers, City Hall.


January 27, 2010  

Contact Us

Please contact the City of Portland, Maine 04102 Room 208 at (207) 874-8685 or email for more information.